Home > Venue > About SRU

About SRU

Shahid Rajaee Teacher Training University (SRTTU), is a public university in the Islamic Republic of Iran. The university is named for Mohammad Ali Rajaee, the second president of Iran. The university is located in the North East of Tehran, in the Lavizan neighborhood. The university was initially founded as the Tehran American School in 1974, but was reestablished as a university in 1980. Farhangian University is included in this university.
The main mission of the Shahid Rajaee Teacher Training University is to prepare teachers to teach curriculums at technical and vocational education schools in Iran. This is a unique program among Iranian universities.



Shahid Rajaee Teacher Training University (SRTTU) provides both undergraduate and graduate programs in eight faculties for typical students and teachers hired by the Ministry of Education. The education programs of typical students are separated from teacher's education programs in order to provide professional education for each group. SRTTU is a public university and therefore, the budget for education and research programs is provided by the government of Iran. Students are accepted into the university by Iranian University Entrance Exam (Konkur) which conducted by the ministry of science and technology, winning prestigious scientific awards like Khwarizmi as well as direct postgraduate programs of the ministry of science for top ranking students. SRTTU is located in the Northern part of Tehran, the capital of Iran. It has therefore the privilege of hosting some top students of provincial universities as guest and transfer students in competitive situations every year. SRTTU is one of two centers of UNEVOC-UNESCO in Iran.[1] The Campus of SRTTU is located in Lavizan, in north east of Tehran.